PDA

View Full Version : Loose Lens - Can I just tighten it?

vlf
17-Nov-2016, 11:16
I'm brand new to LF photography, owning a Wista 45 DX for about three weeks. It has been a wonderful experience so far, with my first four test shots coming out great (for first shots - no suggestion of prize winning photos), especially since not only is the use of a view camera new to me, but I haven't developed film in over 30 years. Fortunately, there is a lot of info out there on the Internet, including on this forum to help, and it did.

I bought the Wista with a Rodenstock 90 mm Grandagon N that was loose on the lens board. The lens is in great shape, optically speaking (even when viewed through my stereo microscope), and the lens board looks to be almost new. I screwed the lens to tighten it and all appears to be fine, at least fine enough for me to capture some test images. My question to you is whether or not it's as simple as just screwing/tightening the lens on the board. I found some posts that discuss putting lenses on lens boards, but i thought I had better ask to be certain. In Ansel's book, The Camera (I think it was that book), it says something about spacing between the front and rear elements being critical and that a technician should mount the lens to a board. Perhaps that statement is dated, but until you ask you just don't know for sure.

Thank you in advance,

V

seven
17-Nov-2016, 11:22
it is as simple as just tightening it, don't worry. the spacing between the elements is critical, but your shutter (or barrel) takes care of that already.

Bob Salomon
17-Nov-2016, 12:38
If the shutter is loose on the lensboard then you just have to tighten the retaining ring that attaches the shutter to the board.