PDA

View Full Version : Filtering Fuji Chrome under fluorescent lighting

Bob Freund
17-Sep-1999, 13:17
I'm an architectural photographer and would like to just use Fuji chrome film be cause I like it better for exteriors. My problem is I have discovered that Fuji seems to have inherantly more green so that when shooting under fluorescent lig hting my color meter is not accurate. If the meter says I should add 20 magenta to an interior exposeure I really have to add 35 or 40 magenta if I am using Fu ji chrome. I know Fuji has technical sheets telling how to filter depending on the particular type of fluorescent bulb in question but then I have to go throug h the hassle of determinging what the bulbs are. If they are not all the same I am in trouble. Has anyone out there run into this problem and come up with any ideas or tables that are helpful. Thanks

Ellis Vener
17-Sep-1999, 17:36
Which Fujichrome? Velvia daylight flourescent: 40R+10M; Cool White:40M+5R; White: 40M+10B; Warm white: #80C+25M

RDPIII:(same sequence): 30R+10M; 30M; 15M+20B; #80B;

RAP: (same sequence): 35R; 30M; 15M+15B; #80B

These are according to the Fuji Pocket guide.

You might want to have your color temp meter checked out.

Michael_527
17-Sep-1999, 21:11
Ellis is right-on regarding the filtration. However I will add that these are _starting points_ for filtration, and for critical work, the photographer should do some field tests. This is important to remember because (for America) the main lamp manufacturers (General Electric, Philips, and Osram Sylvania) do not have a single lamp color standard that the all conform to. This means that a 3500K lamp by one manufacturer will have a different plot from the next, in any color space you plot it into. That's an engineering way of saying that the lamps from one manufacturer may look more or less the same to the human eye, but you will find that films will "see" them differently.

I'm certain this is the case everywhere else, also.