PDA

View Full Version : Wide angle lens for a beginner

omnibook2100
12-Nov-2016, 14:31
Hello All,

I am new to large format photography and I'm trying to assemble a kit (slowly), so was wondering if you can help me and suggest a wide angle lens, which you think would be good for me to buy used and practice on. I am mainly interested for landscape or cityscape work, so a 90mm would be probably suitable enough. Any models you would recommend that wouldn't break the bank but would be good enough. I want to avoid lenses that would be soft at the edges, even when stopped down to f8 or f11. Also I wouldn't want to invest on something that I would have to change very soon.

By the way I'm using a Cambo SC 4x5.

Suggestions of lenses with a larger image circle would be appreciated.

Thanks so much.

P.S. I have found an old lens of my father's, which I have tried on the 4x5 and it seems to work, however I have made the calculations for its image circle and it's not enough to cover the film. The lens is the Zeiss Ikon - Tessar 10.5cm f4.5 (Carl Zeiss Jena). I researched and it is supposedly for 6x9 film, however on the ground glass I'm not seeing any apparent vignetting, how is this possible? Sorry if this sounds stupid, it's just that as a beginner it seems a bit strange. Anyhow, does that mean that I can use it at less than infinity focus at least or is it really useless for the 4x5? Thanks again!

ic-racer
12-Nov-2016, 14:53
Some 6x9cm format lenses do cover 4x5" format at infinity. Try your lens and see how it works for you.

Dan Fromm
12-Nov-2016, 15:02
Here is a list of links to lens makers' catalogs and other sources of information on lenses: https://onedrive.live.com/redir?resid=8D71BC33C77D1008!1005&authkey=!ACp3Kf30SHN3MwY&ithint=file%2cdocx Browse away!