PDA

View Full Version : flare problems

bentelford
7-Oct-2016, 21:54
Hi,
While I have no problems with most of my 4x5 photos, there is one issue I have under particular conditions I can't solve. When I shoot toward (but not into) bright sunlight, my images blow out in the top half, but not toward the bottom. This occurs whether I use a lens hood or not - same problem. It also happens with different lenses that perform perfectly well under other conditions.
I am fairly new to 4x5, so it may be obvious what I am doing wrong.
Below are some very rough scans to illustrate the problem.
Any help greatly appreciated.

Two23
7-Oct-2016, 22:06
Light leak?

Kent in SD

Doremus Scudder
8-Oct-2016, 01:14
What film format is this? It looks like roll-film from the aspect ratio, or a crop. A full scan of the negative would be more helpful in determining the problem (i.e., complete with film rebates, etc.

That said, it looks like a pretty severe light leak to me. I'd be checking the camera back and/or roll-film holder for proper seating.

You could also mention what camera you are using and any other relevant information.

Best,

Doremus

RJ-
8-Oct-2016, 03:53
Hi there,

Doremus' emphasis on more information to help is important to avoid guesswork. Here's mine :)

The first image attachment suggests many possibilities: the dark slide being incompletely ejected during exposure; a fluid level development problem; possibly any part of the image process although perhaps not a light flare specific to the optical glass. The clean line differentiating exposure looks less like a mechanical light leak and more like an operator introduced leak along the imaging process.

The second image looks like a combination of issues; at first glance, it looks like you've used the negative as a printing test strip staggering exposure across the image from bottom to top ;)