PDA

View Full Version : Focus lens

Chris7521
23-Sep-2016, 13:41
I'm still pretty new to LF and have wondered what attributes a "focus lens" has? This pertains to a lot of those old lenses around EBay. Sorry if it's a dumb question but, I just don't find the info around. Thanks for any help!

Dan Fromm
23-Sep-2016, 13:58
I just did a search for "focus lens" on eBay. Ain't no LF "focus lenses" there. Please give some examples.

When you ask a question, please be as specific as possible. Make it easy for people to understand what you're asking about.

I did find "auto focus lens," "manual focus lens," "soft focus lens," even "fixed focus lens." The first two instances of "fixed focus lenses" were auto-focus Nikkors. Go figure.

Jac@stafford.net
23-Sep-2016, 14:03
Your question is the best start-point to large format photography. I am somewhat amazed how people make LF photographs with little or no understanding of the complexities. AND THAT IS PERFECTLY GOOD. oops, me shouting.

Your adventure begins with understanding what focal-length means and then your understanding will devolve when you pay attention to the metric-nerds.

No help, I know. I hope my response will arouse the best informed of this site.

Oren Grad
23-Sep-2016, 14:08
Dan, here's an example of the sort of listing that might be triggering the OP's question: "Aldis f8 10 Inch Focus Large Format Lens". Of course, in that case it's simply referring to the focal length.

djdister
23-Sep-2016, 14:08
Please read:

http://www.largeformatphotography.info/lenses-primer/

Photography With Large-Format Cameras, Eastman Kodak
The Camera, Ansel Adams

Dustin McAmera
23-Sep-2016, 15:07
Not really for LF, but I've come across sets of 'focusing lenses', i.e. auxiliary lenses just like a portrait attachment for a box camera, to give a fixed-focus camera more than one focus distance. I even have a set (Beck, if I remember right).

Bob Salomon
23-Sep-2016, 15:28
To me I thought that he is asking about a focusing loupe.