PDA

View Full Version : Wista 45 vx - big mistake?

Taura Horn
14-Sep-2016, 19:18
So I had been using my mother's Toyo 45 c field camera with a 110mm (maybe nikon?) lens for a few years, but she eventually made me give it back! I liked getting up close to people, which I had no problem doing (see image of groom!) and it was great to take out for landscapes & any other thing I wanted to do. I finally decided to get my own 4x5 camera, and after some (not enough!) research, I found a listing on ebay for a Wista 45 vx with a Schneider Symmar-S 5.6/5.6 and a Schneider Super-Angulon 90/8, and purchased them. I read people's experiences with the Wista 45vx and reviews of the lenses, and thought I was making a good choice, but when I received them, I was so disappointed! I thought I would be able to use the 210 for portraits, since I'd used the 110mm with my mom's Toyo, and the 90mm for landscapes. When I started playing around with the camera and 210 lens, I can only focus to about 7-8ish feet, which does not get me close enough to do these headshots that I like to do! It looks like I'll have to get an extension bed? Is there some "thing" I'm not doing that will get me closer to my subject? Did I choose the wrong camera for what I wanted to do? Should I have just got the same camera my mom had, and not do something different? I'm so irritated right now!

ic-racer
14-Sep-2016, 19:24
You might want to check out some accessories for the VX:

or something like this from across the sea:

Oren Grad
14-Sep-2016, 19:47
IIRC the VX in its standard configuration has a 300mm bellows draw. You should have no trouble getting a good head shot with a 210. How far are you pulling out the front standard when you open the camera? Do you have any infinity stops set on the focusing bed?

Ari
14-Sep-2016, 20:40