PDA

View Full Version : Predicting color balance and print exposure times.

Stephen Willard
26-Apr-2005, 09:15
I have an idea for precisely predicting color balance and print exposure times for color negative papers. I am looking for your considerations.

First, let me provide you with the circumstances. I am a fine art landscape photographer. To maintain quality control and consistency from print to print, I make a master copy of each image I have. I use the master copy as a target when printing subsequent prints. I have found that making precise copies of the master print to be very difficult if not impossible without wasting lots of paper and time. I can do a better job by making test prints than I can with a color analyzer, however both still fall short of my goal.

My overall strategy is to apply the analysis at the print level rather than at the negative level as color analyzers do. This should eliminate all variables attributed to paper batch and processing. I will be using a print densitometer for taking readings which far more accurate than a color analyzer. So here is my grand plan.

1. I will “rough in” a test print that is close to the master print using the manual test strip method. I can get close in two sheets of paper.

2. I will then select a critical area on the Master print and take a RGB reflective density reading and a white light reflective density reading. I will then repeat this procedure on the test print in the same spot.

3. The differences in the white light density readings will tell me the time change that I need to apply to the test print to achieve the same density as the master print. I have already done this using a linear interpolation and found that this method to be very accurate provide the prints are reasonably close in density.