PDA

View Full Version : Some Kodak 2D 8 by 10 questions

Bernard Kelly
24-Aug-2016, 09:57
I'm a rank beginner trying to put a Kodak 2D 8 by 10 into working order.

Some no doubt naive questions:

1) I'm stymied by the front rise & fall control. I have a vague idea as to how it should work, which is to say none at all. I understand that pulling the knob in and out should lock or release the frame/lensboard part, but I see nothing on the latter that would catch onto the inside gear. So: how is this supposed to work in principle?

2) Will a film holder really fit into that narrow space?

3) What's the proper way to remove the back?

As I say, naive. Any help appreciated

mathieu Bauwens
24-Aug-2016, 10:14
1) lock in, then turn the knob to move the lensboard, lock out when it is OK

2) Yes !

3) You have to slightly raise the 2 metals bars from the small pins, then rotate your back.

Bernard Kelly
24-Aug-2016, 10:24
1) lock in, then turn the knob to move the lensboard, lock out when it is OK

2) Yes !

3) You have to slightly raise the 2 metals bars from the small pins, then rotate your back.

Thanks for 2) and 3).
But:
1) This has no effect on mine. It just grinds away. Should there be a corresponding gear on the back of the frame/lensboard? I don't see anything nor any area of contact.

cowanw
24-Aug-2016, 10:43
The gear is hidden between. Likely the teeth on the inside are broken.

Bernard Kelly
24-Aug-2016, 15:31
You may be right, although it's difficult to tell. (See photos.) Do those holes on the back of the frame indicate a missing part?

cowanw
24-Aug-2016, 17:50
Don't think there is anything more to it than in your first picture.

scm
24-Aug-2016, 19:28
You may be right, although it's difficult to tell. (See photos.) Do those holes on the back of the frame indicate a missing part?

It appears that you are missing the rack of the rack & pinion set. The short piece is what locks the riser when you pull the knob out.