PDA

View Full Version : Schnieder g claron or nikkor m

glrerun
11-Aug-2016, 20:32
I am wanting to purchase a lens for 5x7. I am considering the Schnieder G Claron or the Nikkor M. Will use this lens for most anything, but mostly landscapes and cityscapes. Might also use as a long range portrait lens for on the urban streets.

What are your opinions or comments.

DG 3313
11-Aug-2016, 21:01
I have zero experience with the G Clarion but, I have a 300 M Nikkor. It is a slow lens and focusing can be difficult at times. It is a small, light weight and sharp lens and the only draw back is the speed. I use this lens on 4x5 and 8x10 film and I love it.

John Kasaian
11-Aug-2016, 21:24
I have a 240 G Claron and a 300M I use on 8x10.
They are two different lens formulas---my G is an older Dagor type while the M is a Tessar. The G is single coated while the M is multicoated----this makes no difference to me as I only shoot B&W.
I am partial to the G, but if I were choosing between the two, I'd go with the one in best condition/price. Both are fine lenses.

Ken Lee
12-Aug-2016, 04:26
"I am considering the Schnieder G Claron or the Nikkor M."

For blur rendition you might prefer the Nikkor M: see a few samples here (http://www.kennethleegallery.com/html/nikkor200m/index.php).

Which focal length are you considering ?

The Nikkor M is available in 200mm and 300mm.

According to https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Schneider_Kreuznach#G-Claron (emphasis added):

"The Grafik-Clarons are 6-element, 4-group, symmetrical plasmat-type lenses with a 64° angle of coverage, designed for 1:1 flat-field reproduction, but can be used as macro lenses at magnifications up to 5:1 as well. It is recommended to stop down to at least than f/22 for use at infinity. They are available in barrel mount, as well as mounted in shutters.

Coverage listed at 1:1

150mm f/9 (for 8x10")
210mm f/9 (for 11x14")
240mm f/9 (for 14x17")
270mm f/9 (for 16x20")
305mm f/9
355mm f/9 (for 20x24")"

Dan Fromm