PDA

View Full Version : Canham v. Wisner

Laura Lea Nalle
20-Apr-2005, 14:07
Ok, so I posted a question about Wisner Pocket Expedition and the Flight because I couldn't decide which one. I have read through all the archives about Wisner, and there seems to be some debate about his business practices but *general* consensus that his cameras are really great. I think that I would end up with the Flight if I did go with Wisner.

What I didn't mention in my first post for the sake of simplicity, is that I've also been considering the Canham 4x5/5x7. I keep thinking I have my mind made up on the Flight, then I look at the Canham again and love it, and keep going back and forth- which is typical of me until I totally have my mind made up; I like to think it's a thoughtful and thoroughly researched purchase, not simply being indecisive- after all, a photographer's equipment is very important and becomes an extension of him or herself. (I'm a philosophy grad student, ok, I can't help but consider all the sides of a situation and see each for their own benefits and drawbacks- and this process takes time!)

In either case, what I love about the Flight is it's light weight, compact size, simplicity of use, capability of wide angle, and length of bellows for longer focal lengths. What I'm not thrilled about is that it may seem a little on the flimsy side and also the prospect of having trouble with RW, as it seems so many people have. I like to deal with honest, good people, and feel good about who I'm giving that much money to. He told me it would take 6-8 weeks to get a Flight. I can live with that, I suppose, if that's all it takes and I don't have to send it back for long turnover repairs.