PDA

View Full Version : Tight movements

twosmooth
3-Aug-2016, 14:32
I'm new to LF and have been playing with my new-to-me Shen Hao HZX-IIA. I love it so much and I haven't even taken a picture yet.

I have noticed that some of the movements are really tight. When I'm moving the front standard to extend the bellows, the knob that I'm turning takes a little more muscle than what I've seen from folks on YouTube with the same camera. I am talking about the knob that is camera right, I know that the other knob is the lock. In the rear, the locking lever for rear swing will fully swing to the left (unlock) but I can only move it about half way in the other direction to lock it. I'm scared that if I push it, I'll crack the camera some how. Is this normal? Will these movements loosen with time or do I need to lube something?

Thanks!

I just wanted to add that I might have some of the wording wrong, so forgive me.

David Schaller
4-Aug-2016, 06:58
I can't say with the Shen Hao specifically, but the varying temperatures and humidity in the summer can have this effect on wooden cameras.

twosmooth
4-Aug-2016, 15:38
I can't say with the Shen Hao specifically, but the varying temperatures and humidity in the summer can have this effect on wooden cameras.

I hadn't thought of that David. Thanks.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Drew Wiley
4-Aug-2016, 16:15
Never force anything. Contact them first. Gears etc are often intended to be lubricated, typically with a dry lube, from time to time. A correctly made and sealed
wooden camera doesn't have these problems. Humidity variances are factored in. But hardware itself differs, and sometimes needs a bit of help.

Mick Fagan
4-Aug-2016, 16:31
I have that exact same camera, had it for maybe 10 years or so.