PDA

View Full Version : Jobo developer system

Varakan Ten Tipprapa
20-Apr-2005, 10:35
Hey everyone,

I've been taking B&W picture by 4x5 for couple years now it's the time to change my process system from Yankee tank to something better.

Please anyone give me more advices, by far I've been checking from many webs. My final choice will go for Jobo system. I checked they have two or three Jobo system..What’s the difference? It's difficult to handle? Will be any problem if I will buy the pre-owner one?

Thank you very much for your time.

Bruce Watson
20-Apr-2005, 11:19
I've been using a CPP-2 with an expert 3010 tank for several years now, mostly Tri-X in XTOL 1:3. An excellent system for B&W, which gives me perfectly processed negatives.

I think the Jobo website (http://www.jobo-usa.com/products/processor_comparison.htm) gives a pretty good comparison of the various systems. Notice that if you want to use the expert series drums (and you do want that, trust me on this), you need either the CPA-2 or the CPP-2. Of these, the CPP-2 has a digital temperature controller and a cold water inlet (useful if your cold water source is cooler than the 20C most often used for B&W processing).

Other than that, you will want to get the lift. The lift makes pour in and pour out much easier. Either of these units, with a lift, is just amazingly easy to use. I think you'll be pleased. I know I am.

Bob Douglas
20-Apr-2005, 12:07
Varakan,

If you are looking at used ones be aware that JOBO has modified the motors and the spin rates over the years to handle the larger Expert Drums. BTW IMHO they are the only way to go for large format film processing. The JOBO website (http://www.jobo-usa.com/index1.html) has all the info on the changes.