PDA

View Full Version : Blotchy pattern on 4x5 negatives

marmot
16-Jun-2016, 11:48
I'm just getting started with 4x5 and I've been having an issue with a blotchy pattern on some of my negatives. My previous film darkroom experience was processing and printing B&W 35mm.

I'm shooting Tri-X with a Toyo 45CF with brand-new Toyo holders, then processing myself in a Mod54 holder and Paterson tank, using D-76 (1:1) at the recommended developing time for the temperature. I'm agitating by using the rotary spindle on the Paterson tank (not inverting the whole tank).

The problem only occurs on certain negatives - usually it's over the whole image, but one of my sheets had it just along one of the long edges. Most of my negatives have turned out normally. In a batch of 6 the ratio of good to bad might be 6/0 or 4/2. I also can't find a pattern as to where the sheet was in the Mod54 holder.

If anyone has an idea where this might be coming from I'd appreciate any suggestions.

Michael Clark
16-Jun-2016, 11:58
may be chemical contamination of some sort, powdered fixer dust got on a sheet of undeveloped film.

Stephen Thomason
16-Jun-2016, 12:48
Try inverting the tank rather than the twirly thing. I invert my Paterson tanks - I have heard of issues supposedly resulting from using only the spindle. 30 seconds of inversion at the start, 3 inversions every minute thereafter.

Jim Noel
16-Jun-2016, 13:56
Throw away that stick that twirls the reel!
I used to collect these from students to prevent their use.
Do as Stephen say 's - Invert. The 3 inversions should take about 5-6 seconds, in other words they are not lazy, but not overly rapid. If youwatch your timer as you do it, the inversions will become almost automatic.
Back to your negatives - there was insufficient developer solution in the tank. The twirling made the curly patterns.

marmot
16-Jun-2016, 15:48