PDA

View Full Version : Newbie looking for help on a Synchro Compur shutter

bobbotron
11-Jun-2016, 07:08
Hi everyone. I'm new to LF cameras, my first lens has a Synchro Compur shutter, I can't figure out how to get it to go to "view" mode. The flash selector also has a V setting which seems like it might be view, but I'm not sure how to get it to go to that mode. I'm sure it's something basic, but I don't want to break the shutter mechanism.

Thanks!

https://c8.staticflickr.com/8/7193/27527730871_de9e6ce0f2_c.jpg (https://flic.kr/p/HWwPkv)

If you're curious, here's the whole lens, mounted on a lens board I just whipped up.

https://c3.staticflickr.com/8/7299/26990345954_00f372cf02_n.jpg (https://flic.kr/p/H83zwj)

LabRat
11-Jun-2016, 07:09
V is the self timer mode... These require a locking cable release and use the B setting...

Steve K

bobbotron
11-Jun-2016, 07:10
Ahhhh, ok, that was my hunch! Thanks!

tonyowen
11-Jun-2016, 07:26
V is the self timer mode... These require a locking cable release and use the B setting...Steve K

Just to clarify, the V is definitely a self timer of about 20s, but you do not need a self locking cable release and do not necessary need to use the B setting.

The V setting can be used at any shutter speed and can (also) be activated by hand tripping the lense's release lever

The X and M are for electronic flash and flash bulb settings.

The V & X can be used simultaneously as the V setting 'chooses' the X setting by default.

regards

Tony

Dan Fromm
11-Jun-2016, 08:01
That the shutter doesn't have a "T" speed means that it is a #00. #00s don't have a blade arrester (your "view" setting).

As has already been mentioned, use "B" with a locking cable release to focus and compose. Or buy a modern 65 mm lens in a modern shutter.

bobbotron
11-Jun-2016, 10:33