PDA

View Full Version : Do I need to DISASSEMBLE the New Sinar 90mm f/4.5?

Harvey King
2-Apr-2005, 17:26
Hi there:
I am new to LF format photography. Recently, I purchased a brand new Sinar 90mm w f/4.5 lens. When I was appreciating this great lens the day before yesterday, I saw a dust under the first front elements of the lens(dust is on the inner surface of the front element). It is near the center(15mm or so) and the dimension is 0.4mmX0.4mm. I am wondering if I need to take out the front element and use a brush to take it off. If yes, how can I do that? Is it a risk to do so? If I leave it as it is, how could a dust with such a size affect my image quality? Can someone give me any suggestions? I will be appreciated for your help. Thank you. :-)

Doug Dolde
2-Apr-2005, 18:09
Are you sure it's not accessable when you unscrew the front lens half? Possibly the optics are tricking you as to the location. If it's really embedded withing the lens I would return it to the dealer as that's certainly unacceptable.

Mike Lopez
2-Apr-2005, 18:15
You can just unscrew the front element and use a soft brush to get the dust off. No harm at all. If the dust is embedded, as Doug asked, send it back.

Frank Petronio
3-Apr-2005, 07:29
It will probably have no effect, but if I bought it new I'd be raising hell...

Michael S. Briggs
3-Apr-2005, 11:06