PDA

View Full Version : Infos about 8x10 in. Carestream x-ray film

Mos
27-Apr-2016, 09:00
Hi everybody,

My name is Gerardo, I'm a young photographer from Italy. I'm new here, I hope I'm not making any mistakes.
I've always been into Medium Format but, few days ago, I bought a nice 9x12 plate camera from the '20, an ICA Trona 210 with a 13.5cm Carl Zeiss Tessar in compur shutter. I'd like to run some tests but, where I live, I can't really find 9x12 film but Fomapan 100. I read, in this very forum, the possibility to use X-ray medical film. Most of you, as I understand, are using this option to reduce the costs in ULF photography. I'm intended to do the opposite so I'd like to ask some questions:

Here is the film i found from a local store, identical to this one, but even cheaper:
https://www.zzmedical.com/8x10-in-carestream-kodak-x-ray-film.html

The questions are:

1) I have to cut the film, but how should I do that? The film is orthochromatic so I think I should work under a red safelight, am i right? Any precautions?
2) Is the above-mentioned film sensitive only on one side?
3) Any idea about the ISO sensitivity?
4) What is the difference between CSG Green, CSB Full Speed Blue and CSHB – Half Speed Blue ? Any suggestions about the best option to chose ?
5) I use, to develop my medium format film, only a self-made ABCPyro combined with an Alkaline Fixer. Is this a good option to develop the Kodak Carestream or not? Any indications about times?
6) Because the film is orthochromatic can I develop it in trays under the red safelight or should I use, for example, tubes?

That's all, thanks in advance to anyone is going to answer and sorry for my poor english!

Best Regards;

Gerardo

Alan9940
27-Apr-2016, 10:12
There is a long, long discussion of x-ray here:

http://www.largeformatphotography.info/forum/showthread.php?48099-Use-of-X-ray-film-technical-discussion-with-example-images/

Lots of technical information which I think will answer most of your questions.