PDA

View Full Version : Velvia 100 vs Velvia 50

FredrickSummers
21-Apr-2016, 12:41
I have found many (many) threads with lots of interesting information on both, however all I have found are from 2007-2010 and I have seen non address the current issue of the price difference. Most seem to pertain when both were being sold side by side in the USA, which is (unfortunately) not the case for us sheet film users. I have zero experience with Velvia 100 and a few rolls of 50 in 135 format, which is less experience then many here have had in a few hours, so I'm asking for experience.
-Velvia 50
+/- slower
+/- slightly more saturation
? shadows tend to green
? A few blogs and posts mentioned that Velvia 50 actually held more shadow detail, but some posts contradict this
+/- darker images even of proper exposure
- Over $100 for a box of 25 sheets after shipping from Japan. B.S.Kumar (http://www.largeformatphotography.info/forum/member.php?1796-B-S-Kumar) does some importing as well as a group buy here (which I don't think is supposed to get mentioned?) being the two most reliable ways I've seen to get it in the USA

Velvia 100
+/- 1 stop faster (I find it easier to slow my shutter down if I want then to speed it up and keep my needed DoF)
+ better reciprocity characteristics
+/- brighter images with proper exposure
+ 1 stop better latitude (most of the info on this I found was Velvia 50 being -1/2 +1 and 100 being -1/2 +2, though not really sure what they mean by that)
+ slightly better resolution and smaller grain
+/- tends to magenta
++ Around $75 for a box of 20 and can be bought from Freestyle or B&H and delivered to your door (in the USA) within a few days.

Much that I have ready between the two, the difference was very small between the two, but still present. So I'm curious on two things:
1) Which do you prefer and why? if Velvia 50, is it or what makes it worth the extra expense to you?
2) How close/far am I on what I have gathered on these?