PDA

View Full Version : Advice for a portrait lense with a PC connection for speed graphic

Brian Landreville
18-Nov-1999, 23:49
I have a speed graphic. I am new to 4x5, I want to use my studio strobes. I need to know of a good medium telephoto (the equivalant of 105MM in 35MM format, I h ave no clue as to how long that would be in 4x5) that has a sync terminal so I c an hook my strobes to it. Any info will be appreciated. Or is there any way to s ync a flash to my Ektar 127MM?

Tony Brent
19-Nov-1999, 04:47
If your 127 Ektar is in the same Supermatic shutter mine was, there should already be two stubby pins, which are the standard bi-pin flash contacts that Graflex used. Paramount makes bi-pin sync cords, and can also make custom cords.

You probably want something like a 150mm -- 203mm for portraits in 4x5. The 203mm Ektar is a decent lens, but a bit slow.

Alan Gibson
19-Nov-1999, 09:23
To find lenses of the same angular coverage between two formats, multiply by the ratio of the linear negative sizes. 5x4 is about three times the size of 35mm, so a 300mm lens on 5x4 covers about the same angle as 105mm on 35mm format.

I can't recommend a good lens of this length, because I use much shorter ones.

Flash synchronisation is determined by the shutter, rather than the lens. Modern shutters (such as the Copal ones) have the same PC terminal that is used on 35mm cameras.

Ron Shaw
19-Nov-1999, 11:38
As the SG has a max bellows extension of about 300mm, you can not use this long of a lens for portraiture. A 210mm (equiv. to about 70mm in 35mm)may be a good choice, depending on how close you need to focus. Any reasonably modern lens should be able to trigger your flash units. If your Ektar doesnt have the X-M switch, Steve Grimes can mount it into a new shutter that will trigger your flash units also.

Greg Lawhon
19-Nov-1999, 11:42