PDA

View Full Version : Film Holder for 5x7 Korona View

Mark_5366
30-Mar-2005, 18:14
I just came into my first LF camera an old 5x7 Korona View (a friend had it in his garage for a few years) Its in outstanding shape except it has no film holders (or lens/lensboard). I am brand new to this and my question is where can I get film holders? Are modern holders compatible? I have spent hours on line and in this, and other, forums without finding my answer. Thanks in advance! (and if someone could tell me where to get a lens board as well that would also be nice)

brook
30-Mar-2005, 18:28
Modern holders should be fine, as well as older wood holders. I had a korona 5x7 I use to shoot, one thing I found I needed to do was cover the back with the dark cloth when the dark slide was removed. On mine there was more hole than bellows, so the dark cloth went over the whole affair.
I bet you can make lens boards pretty easily, do a search for ideas.

Mark_5366
30-Mar-2005, 19:21
Thanks Brook, another question I had is what would I need to do to step it down to 4x5? Seems there are more lens/film options at that size....thanks.

brook
30-Mar-2005, 19:54
You would need to get a 4x5 back. I had a couple of korona/gundlach cameras at one time and the backs I had were the same size, but the pins to hold them on to the camera were not in thte same place. I just use to tape them on if I wanted to switch them around. If you are going to go shopping, take very carefull measurements to be sure that what you get will fit, or better yet bring the camera with you if you are visiting the backs in person.