PDA

View Full Version : Schneider Lens Issue

AdamLuszniak
13-Apr-2016, 09:56
Hi All,

I'm totally new to large format and would appreciate some help with a lens i recently acquired. It's a 135mm Schneider Symmar 5.6 mounted on a Synchro Compur shutter. This issue is that the lower speeds on the shutter (1/15th and below) do not function correctly. The timings are much longer then they should be and are very inconsistent. I'm aware that it's possible to open up the shutter and give it a blast with a can of air which i'm hoping may help. The rear lens element unscrews very easily however the front won't budge at all. Can anyone give any advice on what i'm doing wrong? 149590

Kevin Crisp
13-Apr-2016, 10:08
Welcome to the forum.

You aren't doing anything wrong. That fine lens you have there is around 50 years old. The Compur shutter is a complicated mechanical shutter of very high quality too. Over the years, the lubricants tend to congeal and stiffen up, and when that happens things stick and the timing is off. This happens to virtually every shutter with time and it doesn't mean there is really anything seriously wrong with yours. When it happens, the symptoms are just as you describe.

Compressed air won't help, at all, and I recommend you not treat this as a do-it-yourself job as this particular model of shutter is very complex. If you're an expert watch repair person then you might want to tackle it. You need what we call a "CLA," which stands for "clean, lubricate, adjust." The shutter will be disassembled, put in solvent, reassembled and lubricated to a very limited extent by somebody who knows just the right lubricant to apply in the right places in the right quantities. After that it will probably run trouble-free for years.

Depending on where you live, we can give you recommendations for getting it serviced.

Finally, the front element won't unscrew because it is stuck. That happens too after time. It will give a repair person no trouble.

Peter De Smidt