PDA

View Full Version : A Silly Idea? Taping Film to Holder

J. P. Mose
29-Mar-2005, 14:03
I am new to 8x10 and have a silly question: Is it possible to place a thin piece of double stick tape between the surface of the film holder and the back center of 8x10 film? I was thinking the would ensure that the film doesn't buckle out. I also considered the importance of reducing the stickiness on the side of the tape that makes contact with the film so nothing transfers on to the film upon removal.

Is this feasible without damaging the film or am I completely out of my mind?

Thanks for your inputs!

JP

Robert C. McColloch
29-Mar-2005, 14:16
The latter. Make sure you buy quality film holders.

Dean Tomasula
29-Mar-2005, 14:18
It's certainly possible, but why in the world would you want to do it? All you'll get for your trouble is an image of the tape in the middle of your negative.

J. P. Mose
29-Mar-2005, 14:22
Dean...If the tape is on the backside of the film (against the film holder) how would there be an image of the tape?

Emmanuel BIGLER
29-Mar-2005, 14:24
Didn't Sinar propose such a sticking 8x10 holder in the past ?

Oren Grad
29-Mar-2005, 14:26
JP -

The Sinar Adhesive holder...

www.bhphotovideo.com/bnh/controller/home?O=productlist&A=details&Q=&sku=48196&is=REG (http://www.bhphotovideo.com/bnh/controller/home?O=productlist&A=details&Q=&sku=48196&is=REG)

... does something like that.

J. P. Mose
29-Mar-2005, 14:29
The B&H Photo website server is down. Are the Sinar holders costly? I bought a couple of new Toyo holders and felt guilty for spending so much money on them!

Oren Grad
29-Mar-2005, 14:33
Are the Sinar holders costly?

Yes, absurdly so. When I clicked on the link a moment ago the price listed was $564.50 each.

Benno Jones
29-Mar-2005, 14:34
A used Sinar Adhesive 8x10 holder sold on eBay the other day for around $200.

J. P. Mose
29-Mar-2005, 14:38
As I recall, the Toyo holders were about $120 each and I thought that was high!

Jan Nieuwenhuysen