PDA

View Full Version : Recommended 8x10 holders

knjkrock
5-Apr-2016, 06:01
I am a hobbyist with a new to me Deardorff. I am more concerned about quality, ease of use, best rather than value. While weight may be a valid concern, I don't see much back packing with this. How many do most have? Wood vs plastic? Any other considerations?

Regards

Ken

vinny
5-Apr-2016, 06:08
Any that are in good shape.
I have 27 plastic holders for 8x10, about 40 for 4x5, and 10 for 4x10. All plastic.

mdarnton
5-Apr-2016, 06:19
I have maybe 18 8x10 wood holders, bought a couple at a time, strictly based on price, and am happy with them. I did have to buy a roll of book backing tape and replace some of the hinges, but I made a rule I wouldn't pay over $25 per holder, so I'm still very ahead. I think it's a mistake to believe that wood holders warp. Mine aren't, and if they were, I could well afford to throw one out. If you're worried about wood warping, don't buy any wood camera!

I bought the 8x10 holders based on Vinny's tank holding six hangers. For 5x7 and 4x5, I just bought everything, wood or plastic, that I saw for a while that was under my price limit (that was $4 for 4x5--I don't remember what for 5x7) until I had more than I will ever need--maybe 60 for 4x5, 40 for 5x7. Remember: what you shoot you will still have to develop. Vinny's big tank holds 6-8x10, 12-5x7, 24-4x5, and in my opinion (Vinny's) tank and hangers is the way to go, using only Kodak hangers (they knew better than anyone how to make a hanger that wouldn't mark the film!)

It is very easy to see in photos if a holder is worn. Look at the corners for ones where the leading corners aren't battered. Most of the smaller ones I have bought, I just held until I saw ones that were nearly brand new. A surprising number for sale appear to be unused, even in 8x10, so wait for those.