PDA

View Full Version : Would this be a light leak?

Daniel.E
2-Apr-2016, 09:50
I always thought that the light leaks would be even all around but near the edge you can see that the negative is fine. I'm a newbie still and I'm probably wrong.
Any ideas? thank you!

Michael E
2-Apr-2016, 10:39
Looks like a light leak. But not while the film was in the holder, the edge is also affected. It probably happened in the box or before processing. How do you develop your film?

Daniel.E
2-Apr-2016, 10:42
It's odd because I loaded 6 sheets when I loaded that particular one, same conditions, same way. It was the same unloading them and only that one had that light leak.

Jac@stafford.net
2-Apr-2016, 10:54
It looks like the film wasn't loaded into the film holder properly.

Ken Lee
2-Apr-2016, 11:06
http://www.kenleegallery.com/images/forum/SqueezeBack.jpg

Light leaks are most likely to occur when we insert and remove the dark slide. Even when the camera has a spring-loaded back, it only takes a little wiggle to let the light in.

It's best to keep things tightly shut with one hand, while we manage the dark slide with the other.

Daniel.E
2-Apr-2016, 11:12
Thank you! that's very good to know. I never thought of doing that. I did remove the dark slide and I took probably 10 minutes to take the picture because I started talking to somebody. Although I didn't think that would make a difference.

Old_Dick
2-Apr-2016, 11:32
+1 thanks.

Michael E
2-Apr-2016, 12:34
The light didn't enter on the side where the dark slide is inserted. And it got under the flap. Just saying.

Ken Lee
2-Apr-2016, 14:41
The light didn't enter on the side where the dark slide is inserted. And it got under the flap. Just saying.

Since Daniel is new to Large Format, could he have loaded the film with the notch pointing towards the bottom of the holder ?

If the back is really loose, can't it come away from the holder at the flap end too ?

Daniel.E
2-Apr-2016, 14:47