PDA

View Full Version : 160mm f3.5 petzval on 5x7: question

Rael
5-Mar-2016, 13:46
I just purchased a petzval lens from a forum member, and I'm having a bit of trouble with it -- It seems like the farthest distance my subject can be away from the camera without vignetting is about 27 inches, which is much less than what I was hoping for. He told me up front that it would likely not focus at infinity with full illumination, but I expected it would be good out some distance up to maybe 7-10 feet, which is what I'd consider "portrait distances." (Since I'm just a newbie, perhaps this was just wishful thinking on my part.)

So..I started reading old threads here and on APUG and trying to digest them. One possible solution seemed to be to stop the lens down, and since it has a slot for waterhouse stops, I was thinking I could do that and get some additional coverage. The other solution is to sell this lens to someone with a 4x5 and get something else. So, I guess my first question would be the easiest: Which of these options seems more reasonable? My second question probably involves math. How much would I have to stop it down to get the sort of coverage I'm looking for out to 10 or 15 feet? I don't really mind if it's distorted or blurry on the edges as long as there isn't any sharp demarcation type vignetting, like I'm seeing now with anything past that 27 inch distance. Any advice? Thanks.

goamules
5-Mar-2016, 15:03