PDA

View Full Version : Help with a lens choice

snaveyrich
7-Feb-2016, 21:18
I am new to LF and I am piecing together a setup for myself. I am looking at purchasing this camera: http://www.badgergraphic.com/opencart/index.php?route=product/product&path=2_22_98&product_id=120

I see that it does not come with a lens, only that it'll include a #0 Copal lens board. I was eyeing this lens on eBay: http://www.ebay.com/itm/Nikon-Nikkor-W-180mm-f5-6-Large-format-Lens-w-Copal-1-Near-Mint-from-Japan-/281929953547?hash=item41a455b10b:g:~rEAAOSwbdpWaFLs

So my question is, can I use that lens with the camera I am looking at purchasing? I am having a hard time finding out which ones will be compatible with that camera... I'm looking for a first lens to be in the 150-200mm range (and not too pricey).

Thanks for any help!

John Kasaian
7-Feb-2016, 21:39
It looks compatible to me, but you'll need a lens board drilled for a Copal 1, not the Copal 0. What kinds of subjects will you be shooting?
FWIW, here is an excellent 4x5 lens in a Copal 0:
https://www.keh.com/shop/150-f9-g-claron-copal-bt-32-mt-lens-675000.html

B.S.Kumar
7-Feb-2016, 22:02
The eBay listing shows the board attached. The camera you're looking at will take that board. So you're set.

Kumar

Doremus Scudder
8-Feb-2016, 03:45
The replies above are right on.

Just a comment for you if you're just starting out. Photographers coming from smaller formats to large-format are often unfamiliar with the basic differences in lenses and lens mounting. Small and medium format camera systems have dedicated lenses with proprietary mounts (bayonet, etc.).