PDA

View Full Version : Angle of view confusion

donkittle
4-Feb-2016, 14:18
Hey all,

I'm fairly new to large format and have a question around the angle of view of lenses. In the full frame 35mm world that I've been a part of for a long time, the angle of view for a lens is more or less correlated to the focal length with a 16mm lens being around 100 degrees or so (diagonally).

I just picked up a Nikon Nikkor SW 90mm F/4.5. I've not shot alot with it yet but I'm starting to prep for a big landscape photography trip in May.

I thought the 90mm would be similar to using a 30mm on Sony A7* cameras.

I was researching the new-to-me 90mm more and came across a site that indicated the lens has a 105mm diagonal angle of view. Does that mean I should see a scene that looks similar to my Sony with a 16mm lens on it?

Seems I'm not really getting something here... If anyone knows what's really going on here, I'd love some insights.
Thanks, Don

vinny
4-Feb-2016, 14:22
http://lensn2shutter.com/angleofviewchart.html

Sirius Glass
4-Feb-2016, 14:27
Welcome to Large Format Photography Forum

Alan Gales
4-Feb-2016, 14:47
It's hard to compare a lens on the A7 to a lens on a 4x5 because of the format difference. The A7 is more of a rectangle where 4x5 although also a rectangle is more square. To me a 90mm lens on a 4x5 would compare in look to a 25mm lens on your A7. Of course others disagree. I had a 25mm lens on my old Contax 35mm camera so I purchased a 75mm lens thinking that it would be similar. I found it too wide so I sold it and bought a 90mm which looked right to me.

You really have to try it out for yourself and see what you think. Welcome to the forum.

Tin Can
4-Feb-2016, 14:51
Draw it on graph paper and it makes better sense to visual thinkers.

This is a text forum.

Jac@stafford.net
4-Feb-2016, 15:02
4x5 and 8x10 feel wider to me because of the aspect ratio compared to my favorite 6x12cm and 6x9cm. You might find the same.

Dan Fromm
4-Feb-2016, 16:14