PDA

View Full Version : platinum printing

allen mckinney
9-Mar-2005, 17:40
I print platinum prints using the Malde/Ware process. I'm using Arches Platine. I've been printing for about four years now in sizes up to 22x30.
I've always had problems with blotches in the very dark smooth areas. I have gotten around that by cutting the sensitizer by half with water and
double coating. Solves the problem but doesn't get the same Dmax. Any solutions?

Andrew O'Neill
9-Mar-2005, 18:10
What's the Malde/Ware process?

Rob Vinnedge
9-Mar-2005, 18:18
Check out the Bostick & Sullivan website (bostick-sullivan.com) if you haven't already. They have an excellent alternative photo discussion line, which specializes in offering just the information you're seeking.

Matt Miller
10-Mar-2005, 06:10
Or ask your question at APUG. There are lots of very pt/pd-knowledgeable folks that hang out there.

Michael Dowdall
10-Mar-2005, 07:31
Another good source for info with a searchable archive is;

http://www.usask.ca/lists/alt-photo-process/

Michael

Jorge Gasteazoro
10-Mar-2005, 08:25
A friend at APUG said he is getting good prints by giving platine an Oxalic Acid bath and then sizing with gelatin in place of double coating. You might one to try that. OTOH I dont do any of this with Platine but my negatives are very dense, this might be another option for you.

Good luck.

Jim Rhoades
10-Mar-2005, 09:31
I don't know what the Malde/Ware process is but how about a couple of drops of 20% Tween?

robert_4927
10-Mar-2005, 09:54