PDA

View Full Version : Correct lubrication for metal sliding beds and tracks?

ryanmills
31-Dec-2015, 11:17
I have a 8x10 Kodak master view I have broken down and cleaned, it cleaned up really well. The tracks on the bed were gummed up with the old grease and a bit rough. I have them all nice and clean now and i'm wondering if I should apply a few drops of a med weight machine oil or something else? Also the KMV has brass cogs and track for focus. Those i was going to leave dry unless something is recommended?

Jim Noel
31-Dec-2015, 11:43
Leave them dry. At most lube them with Rubbing Alcohol.

Jac@stafford.net
31-Dec-2015, 11:50
Leave them dry. At most lube them with Rubbing Alcohol.

Second that! (Rubbing alcohol is not just alcohol, it contains a little lubricant.) And Ryan, don't get any graphite powder lube anywhere near the camera. The stuff is like a nano contaminant and finds its way into lenses. Somehow.

ryanmills
31-Dec-2015, 12:11
Thanks, This goes for both the track bed and the focus rack and cog?

I have a 8x10 Kodak master view I have broken down and cleaned, it cleaned up really well. The tracks on the bed were gummed up with the old grease and a bit rough. I have them all nice and clean now and i'm wondering if I should apply a few drops of a med weight machine oil or something else? Also the KMV has brass cogs and track for focus. Those i was going to leave dry unless something is recommended?

Jac@stafford.net
31-Dec-2015, 12:26
Thanks, This goes for both the track bed and the focus rack and cog?

My opinion only - no grease if it has a brass driving gear or track. Grease just attracts dirt and dust. I just finished cleaning up such a setup, and now that the track and gear are clean (track polished, too), it's very smooth. Some of gears are actually bronze, not brass, and bronze is usually self lubricating.

BrianShaw
31-Dec-2015, 13:02