PDA

View Full Version : Recommend me some lenses.

hoffy
10-Dec-2015, 04:04
Hi Folks,

I am looking at some advice on what might be a good lens to suit the style of photography I am trying to achieve.

Basically, I like shooting at Hot Rod shows. I have been using Medium Format at shows for a few years now and would like to think I am starting to get my own style. I tend to focus in close and use a lot of shallow depth of field. I am also starting to explore more low down wide angled shots. I am currently using a Bronica SQAi, with 50mm, 80mm and 110mm lenses.

Examples of what I currently do can be found via this album on Flickr: https://www.flickr.com/photos/ashhoff/albums/72157629889366346

After taking my Toyo 45A to a show last weekend, I am now keen to explore using this camera more regularly. But, I am a little clueless on what lenses I should be looking for and what people might recommend.

At the moment, my only lens is a Caltar 210mm F6.8. For starters, I am thinking something a little faster might suit. But what focal lengths? What could I get away with, using my Toyo that would suit the looks I am trying to explore? I am assuming that I would need something wider and something a bit longer, but what? Does anyone have any specific lenses that they could recommend, without breaking the bank?

Cheers

JaZ99
10-Dec-2015, 04:23
My current setup is Fujinon 105/5.6, Caltar II-N 150/5.6 and Fujinon 240/9. This set is almost all I need. If I was in your shoes, I'd acquire Caltar II-N 135/5.6, which is small and cheap.

RSalles
10-Dec-2015, 05:09
For the WA shots you're making with the 50mm lens, the equivalent would be a 90/135 mm lens on 4x5. as the Fujinon-W or Schneider Super-Angulon. Those would be my bet for an affordable shopping, with graphic quality as well,

Cheers,

Renato

Bob Salomon
10-Dec-2015, 06:35