PDA

View Full Version : Bausch & Lomb lens identification

Laskadog
3-Dec-2015, 19:10
Almost 25 years ago I moved into a house and the previous owner had left a few decorations lying around. One of them was this mysterious optical thing that I had always assumed was part of an old telescope or something. I'm just getting into Wet Plate and the other during a Youtube marathon I had a eureka moment. While watching a photographer set up his antique 8x10 camera his lens looked unbelievably like my mysterious scope. I decided to while the layers of dust off it and found out that it has a Kodak shutter with f-stops and everything. Anyone know what it might be?

The lens has the following engraved on the side: Bausch and Lomb Optical Co., Rochester N.Y. & New York city 58895
Inside the lens Is says Kodak ball bearing shutter, patten info and a date of 1910.

Any help would be appreciated. Google wasn't much help ;)

Mark Sawyer
4-Dec-2015, 00:46
That shutter doesn't belong in that lens barrel. Somebody just randomly stuck it in there. The lens is probably off a vest-pocket folding camera, and the brass barrel is for a magic lantern.

Laskadog
4-Dec-2015, 04:38
That shutter doesn't belong in that lens barrel. Somebody just randomly stuck it in there. The lens is probably off a vest-pocket folding camera, and the brass barrel is for a magic lantern.

Interesting! Thanks Mark :) So it's some kind of Frankenstein lens. Although there is no actual shutter, just an iris. I'll take a closer look at it. Hopefully it will take nice pictures.

Now I'm wondering how to mount thison a lens board. The goal was to try it out on my Calumet 4x5. The large thread is on the front of the lens.

Laskadog
4-Dec-2015, 07:15