PDA

View Full Version : Pre Flashing Film - Anyone Do It?

Colorado CJ
30-Nov-2015, 18:03
As winter is here, and many days have very flat light, with white skies, and snow on the ground, I am wondering if I should try to pre-flash some film.

Has anyone done this, does it really make a difference in such low contrast scenes? What are the positives and negatives of pre flashing? Lastly, what is your technique when pre flashing film?

Here's one example of where I might like to try pre flashing. I don't know what exactly it would do, or if it would help, as I have no experience with it. This scene spot metered between 14.5 EV - 16 EV.

https://farm6.staticflickr.com/5648/23358475196_1a558c36a2_o.jpg (https://flic.kr/p/BA7hSY)Winters First Snow (https://flic.kr/p/BA7hSY) by Andrew Marjama (https://www.flickr.com/photos/55229792@N03/), on Flickr

Jac@stafford.net
30-Nov-2015, 18:22
Preflashing lowers contrast. Is that what you want? Grey snow?

Michael E
30-Nov-2015, 18:47
Or more detail in the deep shadows? That's the reason I use it sometimes.

TrentM
30-Nov-2015, 18:52
I've pre-flashed, as described in Ansel Adams' "The Negative". It is a method that boosts shadow detail in high contrast scenes to a higher zone (the norm here in south FL). For low contrast, I would expose for an N+1 to create more separation between grey scale tones and boost pure white (zone VIII+).
For your beautiful snow scene like your original post, with very low contrast , you could add sparkle to the snow by slightly over-developing the film...but be careful. you might want to go out and shoot several sheets under your low con conditions and try raising development time by a few percentage points for each. If you are printing in a traditional darkroom, you could them determine the correct expose on your selected paper

Colorado CJ
30-Nov-2015, 19:09
I definitely don't want grey snow. I guess I had it backwards what preflashing does.