PDA

View Full Version : 4x5 Sheet film availability and its future

alen
25-Nov-2015, 21:25
Hi

I plan on moving from digital to film photography full time. I love the detail that can be extracted from 4x5 and the quality and large size of prints. I currently shoot using Digital and Film using a Nikon D800 and Hasselblad 500c respectively. On the Hasselblad, i can readily purchase a roll of Fuji Velvia 50 - 120 film over a counter.
However from my limited research, sheet film, particularly Fuji velvia range has been discontinued but some stock can be bought from ebay. But what then, once theyve sold out, what other sheet films are still available and which are suitable for nature and landscape photography? Apologies for the rather "fresh" questions, im still pretty new to Large format and would appreciate your honest feedback. Last thing i want to do is sell my digital gear, spend thousands on a Linhof master technika 4x5 and find out its redundant.

Thanks.

biedron
25-Nov-2015, 23:24
Well, predicting future discontinuations requires a better crystal ball than the one I have. Fujifilm is particularly inscrutable.

Velvia sheet film is in fact not discontinued (near as I can tell), but Velvia 50 hasn't been sold fresh in the US since about 2012. Velvia 100 and Provia 100F sheet film continue to be available in the US through retailers like http://www.badgergraphic.com (and the big guys like Adorama and BHPhotovideo). Fresh stock of Velvia 50 (and others) is available from Japan, either through Ebayers as you noted, or through places such as Japan Exposures http://www.japanexposures.com/shop/film-analog/film/sheet-film/?features_hash=3-1&currency=USD. Last year a member here (StoneNYC) organized a bulk buy from a Japanese reseller at a good price - not sure if he is still doing that.

As far as alternatives for landscape photography goes, many folks use Kodak Ektar 100 color negative film.