PDA

View Full Version : Need help identifying a rear lens cells

MAubrey
20-Nov-2015, 21:47
Hi,

I've been a lurker here for sometime, but this is my first time posting. A friend had a "lens" on a copal 0 shutter that he didn't know what to do with or have a use for, so he gave it to me since he knew I had a 4x5 camera. However, the lens turn out to be two different lens cells. The front is a Symmar S 150mm f/5.6, but the rear has no markings. It appears to be some sort of angulon/biogon type wide--definitely not a plasmat--but I have no way of knowing what it is. It's a copal 0 size. Maybe a Super Angulon 75mm f/5.6 or f/8? It looks too small to be a 90mm

142545'

Any idea?

EdSawyer
21-Nov-2015, 08:40
Could be an f/8 90mm. My Nikkor looks about that small (the inner element).

IanG
21-Nov-2015, 09:32
It looks too small to be from a 75mm f5.6 SA, it's not the same shape rear barrel as my 75mm f8 SA though It's more like a 65mm.

Ian

MAubrey
22-Nov-2015, 17:07
Thanks, both of you.

I'm having trouble finding images of the Nikkor, but the Schneider 65mm does look like a solid possibility! I'll have to start watching ebay for 65mm front cells...

MAubrey
23-Nov-2015, 14:58
Still digging.

If it's a 65mm, then it's a 65mm f/5.6, since the f/8 version fits a compur 00 shutter and my cell fits a size 0. Problem is, I can't find any images of the 65mm f/5.6 with the stair step shape that I have. However, I have found an image of an old (1959) 75mm f/8 that has that pattern, so it appears that this was a style for Schneider Super-Angulon's in the 1950's (maybe 1960s?). On the other hand, I'm yet to find a wide angle designed lens from Nikon, Rodenstock or Fuji that has the stair step pattern to the rear cell.

So I'm guessing that I do have a Schneider, from the 1950's maybe 1960's, and it's either a 65mm f/5.6 or a 75mm f/8.

Corran
23-Nov-2015, 15:44