PDA

View Full Version : Newbie into LF territory - Linhof Super Technika 5x7

Maxence
11-Nov-2015, 12:33
I purchased a Linhof Technika 5x7 with a rangefinder yesterday at auctions. The camera is in battered condition but the lenses are good and of good quality. (mostly Fujinon A)

I planned to experiment into LF with this camera. Especially for portrait (I am a young architecture photographer, so no architecture for me on my free time :p). Yet I think I have overestimated my abilities. I am shooting digital for my job and some analog cameras as a hobby. Mostly 24x36 RF cameras, and a Mamiya 645 AFD in medium format.
But the MF camera is more a point-and-shoot camera compared to this Linhof beast.

First problem: I have realised that doing portrait with a LF camera is only for studio (which I don't have) and proper lighting. Especially whith lenses closing only from f 10 (as my 24x36 lens opens up to f 1.4 this is a big change)

Second problem: The camera is a bit battered and lenses, despite pristine glass, have failing/erratic shutters. I don't even know what type of camera is my camera. It has no serial number on it and the accessory shoe is missing. I think it is a Super Technika III 5x7. (I am sure of the 5x7 format though) The RF is not usable as the lenses came with no came. (I have been told the previous photographer used to do reproduction of artworks. He should focus only through the glass I guess.) The bellows has cracks all the way and it is not made of leather neither paper, but a strange synthetic fabric. It still may be light tight. The back seems ok. Only the window with leather shade cannot close properly and pops up.