PDA

View Full Version : reality

ShannonG
10-Nov-2015, 20:09
just wondering how many of you all here do this for a living?how many rely on large format film photography as a 1 house hold income,doing a little commercial work but the analog/film stuff is your main income. just wondering

Kirk Gittings
10-Nov-2015, 20:15
I make my living full time from photography (going on 38 years) and analogue is part of that in the form of fine art print sales and teaching. All my commercial work is architecture and is all digital, I also teach part time at two universities, teaching both digital and analogue. This year FA B&W print sales from LF 4x5 negs will account for half of my income.

Tin Can
10-Nov-2015, 21:50
Hobbyist. You couldn't pay me to do what I do.

And that is worded correctly.

Sirius Glass
10-Nov-2015, 22:07
I am full time retired. I do what I want, when I want and how I want. I don't need no stinking paycheck!

Michael E
11-Nov-2015, 04:31
I work as a commercial photographer, almost exclusively digital (and what a blessing digital technology is for that), very little b/w LF here. I also have a part time position at an renowned art academy. I use LF for my own art, but don't make any money with that.

Bruce Barlow
11-Nov-2015, 05:02
Elwood P. Dowd: "Doctor, I've been battling reality for 35 years. I'm proud to report I have finally overcome it."

brucetaylor
11-Nov-2015, 15:06
Elwood P. Dowd. Now that's a name I haven't heard in awhile-- thank you for reminding me of his wisdom!

Fortunately I cannot help you with your question concerning professional photographers. I am happily an amateur- "a person who engages in a study, sport, or other activity for pleasure rather than for financial benefit."

Tin Can
11-Nov-2015, 17:56
I am full time retired. I do what I want, when I want and how I want. I don't need no stinking paycheck!

+1 Me too.

I always think of Maynard G Krebs, 'Work!"

Jody_S
11-Nov-2015, 20:59