PDA

View Full Version : Schneider 90mm f/8 Super Angulon - lens quality at F16?

Jimaimed
10-Nov-2015, 02:08
Hi everyone,

I'm new to LF photography and I got a question about the quality of my lens
I noticed all my negatives are sharp when F45 is applied, below you can find an image of the building across the street at F45 (1/4sec)
Last weekend I got out and shot with the same lens at F16 (1/60) a wall from close distance (2m or 5-6 foot), except for the hole in the middle everything else in the image is bad, vignette and unsharpness although all my movements
are zero leveled except for a very slight rise/fall of the filmplane and some very little shift to get the hole in the middle of the picture.

I never tested the lens at F45 at close distance like this metal wall but I'm suprised even at F16 for a wide angle with this kind of results.

any tips or help what might have gone wrong or somethings wrong with the lens, blades, shutter or could it be only bad camera movements?

shot with Sinar F2 - 4x5 (HP5+ digital scan)

thanks in advance

IanG
10-Nov-2015, 02:47
With no movements used there shouldn't be any vignetting with that lens it has plenty of coverage, optimum sharpness should be at f22 but f16 should be OK.

You need to get the lens checked, maybe post a picture of it here. There's something not right, it wouldn't be the first time that a lens has been sold with the wrong rear elements or is missing spacers etc. Check the dimensions they are listed here (https://www.schneideroptics.com/info/vintage_lens_data/large_format_lenses/super-angulon/data/8-90mm.html).

welcome to the Forum BTW :D

Ian

Jimaimed
10-Nov-2015, 05:04
Hello Ian,

thanks for the reply.
I took some pictures with my iphone, you've put them on flickr in an album, mounted and unmounted to the lensboard.
The lensboard has a retaining ring to fit the copal, that was made by SK Grimes.
Dunno if this helps?
https://www.flickr.com/photos/jimhavoc/albums/72157660979944716

Thanks in advance