PDA

View Full Version : Wood Vs Metal cameras for working near ocean?

ryanmills
26-Oct-2015, 10:03
Anyone who shoots near water have any thoughts on wood vs metal cameras? I shoot a lot in and near water. Most of its not salt water but it happens. I have a metal sinar that holds up pretty well. few cheap screws I noticed have started to show some rust. I'm moving up to to 8x10 and while I have my eye on a Master View mainly because of its speed of use (or maybe a toyo 810m) and it seems it would hold up better in travel. I'm starting to wonder if a deardorff might be a better choice. Or does it really even matter?

Drew Wiley
26-Oct-2015, 12:27
I'm into it all nearly every summer weekend, salty beach fog, rain, often splashy beach conditions, freshwater lagoons. Makes no difference. I shoot wooden folders as well as metal Sinar monorails, sometimes medium format too. All the fittings whether camera or tripod should be nonferrous. I don't know why anyone would want a Dorff when there are so many more modern options out there. But that's starting a food fight. I'd rather have titanium or stainless hardware than brass, which is suscepetible to salt air and needs constant attention, just like on a boat. The Sinar main rails are steel; but they're so well plated
they've never tarnished. My Ries tripods have bronze and stainless hardware, and even my carbon fiber tripods contain nothing capable of rust. I simply hose off the tripods at the end of each day. The cameras get wiped down with a microfiber cloth, slightly dampened if necessary. Lenses are a different subject, but we should all know about those by now.

ryanmills
26-Oct-2015, 13:26