PDA

View Full Version : New to Pt/Pd question about the UV Lightsource

doogie
25-Oct-2015, 15:20
Hello all!

I'm new to the Pt/Pd printing realm. Been doing a bit of research and its finally time to start ordering supplies before I start my Independent Understudy in Pt/Pd printing at school next quarter (last quarter before I graduate with my AAS in Photography).

My objective is to have my own equipment before I graduate.

Here is my question. With regard to UV Lightsources. As I'm not an expert in electrical work (I know enough not to stick my finger in a lightbulb socket), I am opting for a UV light table. I would like to have the ability to print up to 20"x24". Is the following UV Lightsource reliable for Pt/Pd Printing? Any knowledge?

http://www.freestylephoto.biz/262024-Arista-UV-Lightsource-20x24

Thank you in advance.

V/r,
Doogie

jp
25-Oct-2015, 16:12
That would be a good light source. Many people have built them for less, but I hesitate to recommend that route to someone who's honest about not having electrical skills. Search the forums here if you're interested.

If you are going to actually print that big, a vacuum frame will be desirable rather than a spring frame to keep things flat. Once you get to a certain size, spring frames aren't evenly pressured to keep negative+paper in good contact.

A gralab timer is good for operating the light source as well. Better people than I use the standard analog 300 style timer. I use a 451 timer which I got a good deal on used, the benefit being it remembers for me what the exposure time was, so I can adjust or repeat as needed.

Alan9940
25-Oct-2015, 16:36
I would take a look at eepjon.com too. I bought my UV light source there years ago and I've been very happy with it.

Chauncey Walden
25-Oct-2015, 17:06
Or, add a third string to: http://www.largeformatphotography.info/forum/showthread.php?122508-LED-UV-Light-Box-Build-Your-Own-for-Under-150&highlight=biggerstaff

doogie
25-Oct-2015, 18:53
Quick questions.