PDA

View Full Version : Looking to get into 4x5 - need advice

tagehring
14-Oct-2015, 06:42
Hello, all. A few months ago, I lucked into a 1923 Eastman Kodak 2-D 8x10 field camera in pretty good condition (https://www.flickr.com/photos/lifein2x3/albums/72157657763571440). My original plan was to restore this camera and pick up a lens, tripod block, and a few extra film holders to get out and shoot with it. I've never worked with large format before; my main film camera is a Mamiya RB67. So while I'd always wanted a monorail system, picking up a field camera for free was something I couldn't say no to. But after looking at the cost of shooting 8x10 and the limitations of this particular camera, I'm thinking I need to sell it and look at an entry-level 4x5 system. I have access to a 4x5 scanner and darkroom as well, so I have an outlet for what I shoot in that format. All I can do with 8x10 is direct-positive paper or contact prints. The cost of 8x10 film combined with my budget makes it impractical for me to learn with.

So I have the Eastman 2-D with a 12" Kodak Anastigmat f4.5 lens from 1942 and a Kodak wooden 8x10 film holder. The only issues are a missing tripod block and leather carrying strap, a corner of the lens board is missing (fixable with electrical tape), and the left knob for the rise adjustment on the front standard looks to have been broken off at some point in the past. The movement still works and can be locked in place.

What I'm looking for is a 4x5 monorail system (a Horseman 450 or Cambo SC?) with a few film holders and maybe a case. If I sell the 12" Anastigmat with the Eastman, I'd need to find a replacement lens for 4x5. My original plan was to hang on to the Anastigmat to use with 4x5, but it's also a very large chunk of glass and it might be better to find something smaller and wider for 4x5.