PDA

View Full Version : Proper Synchro Compur operation

Assar Westman
21-Feb-2005, 05:54
Hi
I have just started with large format photography and just bought my first lens an old Linhof Super Angulon 90mm with an Synchro Compur #00 shutter. I wonder if someone could point me in the right direction how this shutter should be operated in a proper way? And also things one should think about so I will not ruin the shutter just because I am a stupid beginner.

Best regards Assar Westman

Donald Qualls
21-Feb-2005, 07:34
The Synchro-Compur is a robust and simple to operate shutter. Unless you drop it in water or dirt, or squirt oil in the slots, you won't hurt it short of simply bending or breaking parts (which isn't likely unless you drop it, anyway).

To open the shutter for focusing, set to T -- pressing the release (either the lever or a cable release) will open the shutter, pressing again will close it (as will changing the speed). B will stay open as long as you hold the release. Neither T nor B requires cocking the shutter.

For all other speeds, once out of T/B you can cock and then change speed, or change speed and then cock; it makes no difference (though the speed dial will go to the highest speed more easily if uncocked, because you're working against the stiff speed booster spring if the shutter is cocked). The shutter must be cocked (lever on the right, viewed from the front) before it can be fired (lever on the left, or cable release).