PDA

View Full Version : Old Lenses... Which Are The Stand Outs?

Scott Rosenberg
20-Feb-2005, 14:55
i am just getting started and want to build a lens kit of classic lenses - Dagors, Artars, Lanthars, Ektars, etc. i like the look of the old glass, and for what i shoot, i am not looking for razor sharpness, but rather the smoothness of the old glass.

with all the various color dots (red, gold) and various options out there in focal length and aperature, i was eondering if there were any widely accepted STAND OUT lenses of the classics available. the 135/6.3 and 203/7.7 ektars seem universally praised - but what else out there in older glass has a great reputation for making smooth, pleasing images?

conversly, are there any real dogs... certainly every focal lenght dagor can't be wonderful!

Scott Rosenberg
20-Feb-2005, 14:58
hey fellas... this question was asked by a buddy of mine. i couldn't answer for him - i use mostly modern glass - so he posted here on the forum, but it was tagged to my account.

just so there's no confusion!

scott

John Kasaian
20-Feb-2005, 19:31
Scott/Andrew

Except for two Nikkors, everything I have is old and out of production. While some old glass is very very good, I think the real value of using a "stand-out" lens is psychological. A Dagor won't make you a Stieglitz any more than a Cooke will make you an Ansel Adams or a Verito will turn you into a Hurrell, but---and this I think is important---if you have such a noble lens you won't be able to make excuses that your equipment let you down. I think that can be a benefit, especially with the high tech mindset that is all too common these days. That said, one of my favorite "stand out" lenses is currently an ancient 10-1/2" G. Gennert(?)

John D Gerndt
20-Feb-2005, 20:39