PDA

View Full Version : Bostick & Sullivan Carbon Tissue

JMoore
24-Sep-2015, 12:52
Does anyone have experience using the Bostick & Sullivan Carbon Tissue? I would like to try carbon printing and this looks like it might be a convenient way to try. :p

https://www.bostick-sullivan.com/cart/product.php?productid=554&cat=171&page=1

Thanks,
Jim

Peter De Smidt
24-Sep-2015, 13:49
I've used some. I'm no expert, but it worked fine. It's a good way to start.

Jim Fitzgerald
24-Sep-2015, 17:47
My experience is that to really know carbon printing you need to pour your own tissue. B&S makes a decent tissue to learn with.

JMoore
24-Sep-2015, 18:16
Peter & Jim, thanks for the info.

Jim

Vaughn
24-Sep-2015, 19:15
If you can, transfer onto fixed-out photopaper to begin with. FB (emulsion side) or RC (either side). I prefer Fiber - glossy.

Good Luck!

JMoore
25-Sep-2015, 07:18
If you can, transfer onto fixed-out photopaper to begin with. FB (emulsion side) or RC (either side). I prefer Fiber - glossy.

Good Luck!

Thanks for the tip Vaughn :)

Jim

Jim Fitzgerald
25-Sep-2015, 09:47
If you find that carbon is of interest my suggestion is to take a workshop with a carbon printer with experience. I found that in my work from the very beginning I wanted complete control over the process. Hence, pouring my own tissue was a must. The difference is that with the B&S tissue you have a thin quality tissue that has certain colors available. When you pour your own you can blend pigments and create your own colors unique to you and pour a thick tissue if you desire a high relief image.

Which ever way you go you will have to dedicate a lot of time to the learning curve. Good luck.

Wally H
26-Sep-2015, 12:22