PDA

View Full Version : Camera and Lens Wraps

Richie_Perkins
24-Sep-2015, 00:14
Morning all, I’m just starting out my Large Format journey and the camera should be with me next week. As I will be using this mainly for landscape photography I have a rucksack for carrying the camera, lenses and film holders but I am concerned about having them all unprotected in the ruck sack. I have been looking at camera and lens wraps as a way of protecting them in the rucksack but have no idea if they are any good or if there is a viable alternative.

Im looking for advice on the wraps and if they are any good and if so where do you get yours from as recommendation from a user is preferable to a buy and hope approach. If any of you have an alternative way of protecting your equipment please let me know?

Kit will be Zone VI camera (4X5) 1 lens on a lens board and 3 film holders.

Thank you in advance
Richie (At the start of my journey)

vinny
24-Sep-2015, 03:56
I use Cabelas spinning reel cases for most of my lenses on linhof boards. They close with a zipper.

Drew Bedo
24-Sep-2015, 05:17
When I broke into LF in the early 1990s, I made my own custom padded back pack.

The bag was a JanSport book bag from a Goodwill resale shop. I bought a closed cell foam sleeping pad from an Army Surplus store. I cut (and re-cut) cardboard to fit the interior shape of the book bag till there was a tomb-stone shape that would sit against the back interior of the bag. This was used as a templet to cut up the sleeping pad into similar shaped pieces. These were layered into the pack to fill it .

Next step was to layout the things I wanted to pack: Camera, Lens on board, film holders etc. The cardboard templet was cut with windows to match the layout and used to guide cutting the foam layers one at a time. When everything seemed to be about as good as it could get, the layers were tacked together with a hot glue gun and reloaded into the pack.