PDA

View Full Version : The 250mm 10" Wide Field Ektar thread.

John Kasaian
21-Sep-2015, 15:02
When I started shooting 8x10, after getting a camera, some film holders and a tripod that could actually hold the thing up, I needed a lens that would cover the format.
I suspect other new 8x10 shooters have found themselves in the same boat.
The big money question of course is, "which lens?"
There are (or were) plenty of fine ex commercial studio lenses such as Symmars and Commercial Ektars, which, not that long ago, were considered "state of the art" for product shots and when the format passed from common usage these lenses could be had very reasonably. I don't know what the prices are like now but few things equating with large format are "cheap" and the larger the format, the more costly the gear tends to become.
There are certainly newer designs from Congo, Fuji, and Nikkor to tempt you and I think any of the better known 8x10 lens are worthy contenders, and some classic lenses like Dagors, Cooks, Wollensak and Artars have deservedly (IMHO) achieved a cult status but none of them are, or have ever been magic bullets.
I think that probably one of the most important considerations when evaluating which lenses you decide to put on your shopping list to buy is by looking at the photographs other photographers have taken with the same lens.
Does the image strike a chord with you sensibilities? Not the subject, but rather how it records the subject? I prefer to look at examples used to photograph subjects I don't appreciate as much as I should just so I'm not swayed by dramatic mountains or heavily filtered Wagnerian cloud phenomenon.
I'm also not that fond of the way photographs appear on computer screens. I'm of the opinion (maybe wrongfully) that I can get more out of an original print---or failing that a carefully printed book--than I could looking at the same image on a screen.
So I was thinking about one of my favorite lens, the 10" 250mm Wide Field Ektar.