PDA

View Full Version : Evaluation and questions from first contact print (Retropan 320, Fomalux)

Jockos
20-Sep-2015, 04:02
My sister is getting married next month, and I'm forced to take her wedding pictures. In order to make it special, I wanted to make some contact prints for her, to compliment the small format shots.

My 4x5 workflow this far has been hybrid wet/digital, so I've never done this kind of printing before, only enlarging small format negs. But in order to get a hum about what I'm doing before going on to the actual important shots, I wanted to try it out some beforehand.
After getting all the gear needed for the 5x7, I finally set out for making a contact print last week.

I've got some remarks and questions (underlined), and would love to get some advice in these matters. I've no formal education in photography, and never had anyone except the Internet to teach me about darkroom work. But unfortunately information online about Fomalux and Retropan in particular is quite sparse.

The first problem I encountered was when stack developing the film in a tray; I didn't pre-soak, and had two negatives stick really hard together. I also got some scratches and emulsion damage.
Will probably develop singles sheets in the future, or get a tank. Will the pre-soak increase development time as well?
The Foma Retropan 320 will need far more developing than the times I got from Foma.

Thank you for your inquiry as for the Fomadon Excel.

Let us recommend you to use the developing time of 7 minutes (El 320), eventually 9:20 minutes (El 640) corresponding to the temperature of 24 °C.

Hope you find it helpful.

Best regards,

This was for dilution 1+1.
I went with ISO 200 (incident metering) at 320 times, and got clear negatives in the shadows. Will prolong development in my next test.
Would the bellows extension on a 270mm lens need compensation for a shot at this distance (see example)? I don't know when to compensate, since it's a tele lens.