PDA

View Full Version : Is there a lens comparison resource for LF lenses?

arkadi
8-Sep-2015, 23:22
Hello,
Is there a lens comparison resource / test website for LF lenses?
A place where one can see scores in resolution, vignetting etc? I am new to LF photography and while choosing lenses to buy and looking around one can mostly hear phrases like 'I like my lens'-I don't think it enough. I can't get why a certain focal length of a particular brand and make is considered good while other length of the exactly same make considered not worth attention. Is $2000 lens that much better than a $500 one?
In 35 mm terms http://photozone.de is a superb resource.

thanks

IanG
9-Sep-2015, 00:03
Kerry Thalman (http://www.thalmann.com/largeformat/) and Chris Perez (http://www.hevanet.com/cperez/testing.html) have both tested lenses and posted their results on their websites. while the tests are mostly more than 10 years old there's been no new LF lenses since then.

Ian

Bob Salomon
9-Sep-2015, 03:55
Kerry Thalman (http://www.thalmann.com/largeformat/) and Chris Perez (http://www.hevanet.com/cperez/testing.html) have both tested lenses and posted their results on their websites. while the tests are mostly more than 10 years old there's been no new LF lenses since then.

Ian

And the test did not include all current lenses back then either. The short answer is no, there is no comprehensive test of all recent and older designs.

Keith Pitman
9-Sep-2015, 06:02
Not entirely what you are asking for, but this resource is a good start: http://www.largeformatphotography.info/lenses/

EdSawyer
9-Sep-2015, 06:07
The Perez list is as complete a test as I have seen. http://www.hevanet.com/cperez/testing.html

ruilourosa
9-Sep-2015, 06:26
buy and test:

like: keep

so so: keep (if you are rich)
so so: sell (if you are poor)

Hate: sell

There is a problem although... i love my 240 g claron up to 3-5 meters in lowish contrast but i hate a sunny mid day landscape with it...