PDA

View Full Version : Looking for a 4x5 wide lens in the 60-75mm range

esearing
29-Aug-2015, 13:59
I found myself in the middle of a stream today balanced precariously on a narrow rock capturing a lovely water fall with a 90mm lens. Framing the image was tight and took a few raises and lowering of the tripod and even a little creative tilting of base and standards. I found myself wanting a wider lens at that moment.

Are there any reasonably priced lenses in the 60mm to 75mm range that would work on a 4x5 field camera? Am I going to run into bellows compaction issues? Camera is Ikeda Anba.

IanG
29-Aug-2015, 14:07
I've been using a 65mm f8 Super Angulon since the late 1980's, and more recently a 75mm f5,6 Super Angulon, there's a bit of fall off in exposure at the edges but I can cope with that with 5x4 but a centre filter is needed for E6.

There's wider but costs soar :D

Ian

Old-N-Feeble
29-Aug-2015, 14:14
What do you consider "reasonably priced"? :)

Is your cameras like THIS (http://www.thalmann.com/largeformat/anba.htm) ?

Jim Jones
29-Aug-2015, 14:25
A Super-Angulon 1:8/65mm works on my Ikeda Anba with no problem with bellow compression. There would be slight room for using a front rise if this lens's coverage permitted. The back standard doesn't have to be moved forward to keep the bed out of the field of view on horizontal or vertical shots.

esearing
29-Aug-2015, 15:54
What do you consider "reasonably priced"? :)

Is your cameras like THIS (http://www.thalmann.com/largeformat/anba.htm) ?

Yes it is so it looks like a 65mm would work. And it looks like some can be had for under $400 for F5.6 or even less for f8.
Shutter accuracy and lens dust is always a concern in this lower price range for me.

Eric Woodbury
29-Aug-2015, 16:05
You could get a very nice Fujinon SWD 65mm f/5.6. Nice lens and all the Fujinon lenses are a bargain.

Jac@stafford.net
29-Aug-2015, 16:20