PDA

View Full Version : Beginner mistakes

Draganski
3-Aug-2015, 12:58
I am a total beginner at developing my 4x5 film. So far I have developed a couple of 4x5 Ilford FP4 sheets, using Ilford chemicals. ID-11 stock solution, Ilfostop and Rapidfixer. Here is my problem:
Another one:

You can notice the middle area has got a kind of haze compared to the rest.
Is it possible that i am havin a light leak in my darkroom?
I work in a cellar and 10m behind me there is a server with LEDs. it is not facing me in any way, but maybe there is weak light being reflected. the server is behind a dark dimmed glass, i don't know if this is the problem.

I developed the sheets on different days, one at a time. the trays are about 4x8". i developed at 20°C, 7:15 min, constant agitation, lifting and lowering clockwise every side. after 7:15 i put the sheet in a 30 sec. stop bath, then 3 min. fixer. after that i rinsed the film off and put it in a 5x7" tray filled with water. i changed the water about 5 times within 30 min.
I have an office printer/scanner where i develop the film. the immediate inspection on the flatbed scanner does not show this fog,but maybe it is simply because that office scanner is not suitable for the negative. i have the impression that it occurs after a day or two. Could it be that i did not wash out the fixer properly?

it is so sad when you can't wait to develop a shot and find out you ruined it. :(

Randy
3-Aug-2015, 13:29
...it is so sad when you can't wait to develop a shot and find out you ruined it. :(

Welcome to my world :(

I almost wonder if you just didn't fix thoroughly. 3 minutes may not be long enough. I don't think it is insufficient washing. Perhaps try washing one of the negs for a couple minutes then back into fix for 3-4 minutes, wash as normal, dry, and scan again.

LabRat
3-Aug-2015, 13:50
I also think it has not been fixed long enough...