PDA

View Full Version : Quick releases for LF cameras

Oren Grad
3-Jul-2015, 13:27
The discussion in Neil Poulsen's thread about the weight-bearing capacity of particular tripod heads brought up the question of what experiences people have had with quick releases on LF cameras, and what design features would make for a secure QR for different sizes and types of LF camera. As I said in the other thread, I've been skeptical of QR's for big cameras, but I could well be missing something. I'd be interested to hear of others' experiences with QR's for LF cameras.

Ari
3-Jul-2015, 13:44
Funny you should ask, Oren, I was thinking right along those very lines myself. :)
I have had no direct experience with ULF yet, so I'll keep my comments to 8x10 and smaller formats.

For years I used Manfrotto's hex plates, and, unlike some other people, I was fan; the problem was when the plate got a little win down, there would be a little play, resulting in having to over-tighten, which resulted in less-than-acceptable performance.
I've since moved on to Arca-style-looking QR clamps and plates, the clamps I prefer are quick-locking lever types.

I suppose Arca-Swiss must make some, but the ones I heard about most often are RRS and FLM, the latter because I deal in them. I use the FLM clamps.
After 2.5 years of steady use, I still find this clamp/plate QR system to be rock-solid, without a hint of slop or movement.

As I said in another thread, I'll shoot a quick video, or photos, of the clamp and plate holding a Toyo 810M (16 lbs.) upside-down, attached to a tripod. That's how solid I feel they are.

In the past I've seen some custom-made systems coming out of the movie industry, and these are heavy-duty as well, but again, I have no direct experience with those, so I'll restrict comments to those products that are more readily available online or at a store such as B&H.

Bob Mann
3-Jul-2015, 14:11