PDA

View Full Version : Shooting days per year?

Kirk Gittings
30-Jan-2005, 20:52
I ran into David Muench at the grocery store a little while ago and we got to talking about his travel schedule and he mentioned that at his young age he was still shooting 200 days a year!

I've got to say that I was amazed and jealous. I make my living in this business and my commercial work and personal work combined might approach 125 days a year shooting. And unfortunately only about 25 of those days are probably on personal work. Now granted I spend nearly 7 days a week in one way or another doing something photo related.

How many days a year are you folks shooting?

Chris Gittins
30-Jan-2005, 21:15
Probably 20-25. Frequency varies from season to season - winter being least frequent. Sometimes I'll go out once or twice a week for a month and then go several months without taking a shot. If I'm onto something in the darkroom sometimes taking a day off to shoot can feel like a distraction - breaks my momentum.

QT Luong
30-Jan-2005, 21:56
Used to be about 75 days, all personal. Now much less, or much more, depending onwhether a day when I have a photo session with my baby girl counts as a day of shooting or not :-)

Leonard Metcalf
30-Jan-2005, 22:30
Between 60 & 120 days per year... all personal depending on the year and the projects that I am working on. Living in the middle of a World Heritage Area helped as I have been able to take advantage of good light days, afternoons work and leaving work early, and some beautiful early mornings too... devoting my holidays to shooting has helped with the count... the count has also grown steadily over the years as my passion for photography grows. Was initially limited by my annual film budget.

Neal Wydra
31-Jan-2005, 05:58
Shooting? Only 25 - 35 days per year, but at least 2 printing sessions per day shooting.

Brian Ellis
31-Jan-2005, 06:00